Maritime Museum

Mûsée Mathitînme

Couple look at model boats Couple talk to jersey Heritage staff Family walk to Maritime Museum Family play with water at Maritime Museum Family look at giant globe exhibit Family play with knots at Maritime Museum Family inside an exhibit at the Maritime Museum View of marine with boats in water

    By the historic harbour of St Helier, the Maritime Museum is all about seafaring, navigation and the elements.

    Opening Times Icon

    Opening Times

    Open daily from 16 March to 30 October 10am to 5pm
    Open every Sunday from 31 October to 18 December 10am to 4pm
    1 to 3 January
    19 to 31 December

    Admission Prices

    Members Adult Child (6 to 16) Senior (65) Student (16+) Family Ticket (Two Adults and Two Children)
    2022 FREE £11 £7.15 £9.90 £7.15 £32.65

    Free admission to children under 6 years old

    Admission to the Occupation Tapestry Gallery is included with entry to Maritime Museum. Single Admission to the Occupation Tapestry Gallery only is £4.95


    There is no requirement to book if your group is below 6+ Adults / Seniors
    15% Group Booking discount is applicable to pre booked groups of 6+ or more Adults or Seniors (or combination of)


    15% discount for pre booked groups of 6 or more adults or seniors. Please book in advance here

    10% discount for non pre booked groups of 6 or more adults or seniors (at VSA discretion)

    Students and children – no group booking discount

    Jersey Heritage welcomes the following Reciprocal Agreements:

    • Museums Association Members
    • International Council of Museums (ICOM) members
    • Alderney Society / Museum ticket holders
    • Friends of Liverpool Maritime Museum – Occupation Tapestry Gallery and Maritime Museum only
    • Friends of National Maritime Museum – Occupation Tapestry Gallery and Maritime Museum only
    • Friends of Manx National Heritage
    • Réseau des Musées de Normandie – Muséopass Card

    Our disabled visitors pay the normal admission rate and we are happy to offer free admission for up to two carers.

    Heritage Pass

    Unlimited access to 4 must see attractions for the price of 3

    Location Icon


    New North Quay, St Helier, JE2 3ND For more information call +44 (0)1534 811 043

    View Larger Map


    Jersey’s landscape and history have been shaped by the sea and this museum tells the story of the Island’s unique maritime environment and rich seafaring past. Set by the historic harbour of St Helier, the Maritime Museum is a uniquely interactive museum where you can see, hear and even smell the exhibits.

    Learn about the tides or how to design and float a ship, immerse yourself in songs and stories of the sea, and investigate the Island’s myths and legends or discover the fun of the seaside. Take a closer look at Jersey’s link to seafaring and shipbuilding and the privateers and pirates who shaped the Island’s maritime past and learn about navigation and the elements.

    Also on site the Occupation Tapestry Gallery. The award-winning Occupation Tapestry which was woven by Islanders to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the liberation. The 13 richly colourful panels of the tapestry depict life and hardship under military rule and were created from the memories and stories of Islanders who experienced it first-hand.


    Top 5 things to do at the Maritime Museum

    1) Find out about Jersey’s seafood, beach culture and seaside entertainment

    2) Get interactive in the Globe Room and climb on board the rocking Ship’s Cabin

    3) The Occupation Tapestry & Liberation Exhibition

    4) Step outside to see the historic boats (Fiona, Howard D, Florence and Jessie ) floating in the marina.

    5) Discover The Art of the Model Maker which features models of HMS Jersey, Philippe de Carteret’s HMS Swallow, the Red Cross Ship Vega and many more


    History of the new north quay and the origin of the maritime museum

    The Maritime Museum building was constructed as part of an ongoing process to make improvements to St Helier Harbour in the 1880s. Development of the Harbour by the States of Jersey (Jersey’s Government) commenced in 1872, but was abandoned four years later. However, trade continued to develop, as did the size of passenger and cargo vessels, which were in transition from sail to steam-power. To keep pace with those changes, the Harbours Committee attempted to dredge the harbour and widen the North Pier. This would provide more space to unload steamers and facilitate a quicker turnaround.

    Work on widening the North Pier commenced in May 1882 using the concrete blocks from an abandoned harbour scheme at La Collette. The plan had been to build a breakwater from there and another from Elizabeth Castle, to create a deep water harbour. By November 1888, all the concrete blocks had been used up and work came to a halt, although close to half the length of the Pier had been widened.

    Trade was still increasing, with larger and faster steamers being built for the Island’s service – the Great Western Railway took over the service from Weymouth, urgently requiring a larger berth. A dredging programme began with the intention of allowing more time for vessels to enter and leave the Harbour. Sheds for the storage of imported goods were built. In March 1893, the States agreed to fund the widening of the North Pier and to provide a landing stage at the end. The project wasn’t completed until October 1897, as large amounts of rock had to be removed.

    In 1897, the Harbours Committee had a passenger waiting room built on the North Pier – another was built on the Victoria Pier the following year for the London & South Western Railway. In 1899, it was agreed that a shelter would be constructed on the Albert Pier to service the Plymouth, Bristol and St Brieuc boats. New offices and stores for the North Pier were also agreed in 1899, and five large sheds were built accordingly and offered for let.

    After the Liberation of the Channel Islands from German Occupation in 1945, the sheds were being used for Harbours maintenance works and Customs. By the 1970s and the introduction of shipping containers, the sheds were no longer required. In 1980, it was decided to turn the area into a marina – the pedestrian area was enlarged, seating fitted and the former St Catherine’s Breakwater lighthouse was installed as a focal point. It would later become a memorial to the Jersey men and women who were deported for acts of defiance during the Occupation, and never returned.

    The Friends of the Maritime Museum began using one of the North Pier sheds in 1992, and the drive to find a home for the Occupation Tapestry in advance of its launch by the Prince of Wales in 1995 led to the creation of the Maritime Museum. The rest is, as they say, history.

    With thanks to Kevin Le Seelleur and Robert Le Maistre.


    Maritime Museum Resources

    The museum is divided thematically into the three areas of Elements, Boats and People. The exhibits in each area are explained through corresponding iBooks which can be downloaded here.


    Free Walking Guide

    Explore Jersey with our series of walking guides taking in many of the Island’s landmarks, heritage and visitor attractions. Our walks have been developed by a Jersey Blue Badge Guide, who knows the Island inside-out. Howard Davis Park to the Maritime Museumfind out more. This walk offers a glimpse into the life of one of Jersey’s greatest philanthropists – Thomas Benjamin Davis.  The son of a ship’s carpenter, he was a self-made millionaire, a friend of King George V, yet he never forgot the island of his birth.

    You can take a free virtual tour of Jersey’s maritime history here.


    Facilities and Access

    Read our access statement for the Maritime Museum and Occupation Tapestry Gallery.

    Payment: Can be made by debit, credit card (not Amex), in Sterling or Euro.

    Organised groups: 15% discount for groups of 6 or more adults or seniors. Please book in advance by completing the form here.

    Entrance and parking: Located on the New North Quay in close proximity to the Weighbridge and Liberation Square. No on-site car park but parking for cyclists.  Nearest public car parks are located at the Waterfront, the Esplanade, Pier Road and Sand Street.

    Buses and cycle routes: All bus routes to Liberation Station. Follow any cycle route for St Helier

    Refreshments: There is no café on site

    Gift Shop: The Jersey Heritage gift shop, selling gifts and souvenirs is on site

    Access arrangements: Disabled access to all floors

    Dogs: No dogs allowed, except guide dogs. Read our policy here.

    Hearing loop: available at reception and a portable hearing loop is available for groups if requested in advance

    WIFI:  Available on site